A Jointventure of
academics Award
A | A | A

Young Researcher of the Year 2014: Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kálmán Graffi


Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kálmán Graffi from the Heinrich-Heine University of Düsseldorf has been honoured by academics as Young Researcher of the Year 2014.

Nachwuchswissenschaftler des Jahres 2014 - Kálmán Graffi© privatJun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kálmán Graffi is the Young Researcher of the Year 2014
Pursuing his vision of efficient utilization of computing resources within distributed systems, Kálmán Graffi focused his research primarily on the areas of reliable and secure distributed communication patterns with a special focus on Quality of Service (QoS) and security.

As a member of the Arab-German Young Academy of Sciences and Humanities (AGYA) he is also focusing on developing and implenting his vision within an interdisciplinary exchange.

Additional awards

Alongside Kálmán Graffi, one additional young researcher was recognised:
Prof. Dr. Vanessa-Isabelle Reinwand-Weiss (Director of the 'Bundesakademie für Kulturelle Bildung', Wolfenbuettel and professor at the University of Hildesheim Foundation)

About the academics award

This is the eighth time academics has presented this award for young researchers which includes a sum of five thousand euros. The prize honours young researchers, who, through outstanding engagement, innovative thinking and exemplary work, fundamentally influence science, research and development for the better. Early career researchers from any field up to the age of 35 can be considered for the prize. Last year it was awarded to Dr. Walid Maalej of the University of Hamburg.


The academics award will be presented on 23th March 2015 at the 'Science Gala' hosted by the German Association of University Professors and Lecturers. The Young Researcher of the Year Award will be presented alongside the prize for University Lecturer of the Year, which this year is going to Professor Dr. Raúl Rojas, professor for computer science in the field of artificial neural networks and robotics at the Free University of Berlin.